As soon as I decided to blog from coffee shops, we stopped going to coffee shops. Go figure!

So today, we are sitting at Vinyl Taco in beautiful downtown Fargo. I really adore this place. The food is good and the atmosphere is spectacular. Clean, airy, dim but not dark, AND they play great music. Not just good music, GREAT music.

I’ve also transitioned once again, this time back to the familiar stomping grounds of faculty. {Music note: Warren Zevon, “Werewolves of London” Bip!!} After spending a year as Acting Dean, I have returned to faculty and am teaching Gen Chem II this summer. I will reserve final judgement on my foray into administration, but I think I can comfortably say that it feels good to get back into the classroom. {Music note: Bowie & Queen, “Pressure”} There were many things I enjoyed about being an administrator, but in that first year of deaning I certainly had a few missteps, not the least of which was poor time and health management. {transitioning to Stevie Ray Vaughn, damn this is good music…}

I think the best thing about returing to the faculty is that I will have a chance to really reflect upon my year as Acting Dean and assess how my strengths and weaknesses fit into the role of administrator. More to come in the near future, but for now, it’s time to wrap up. {Police, “Roxanne”} For the moment, I’m going to sit back, finish my margarita, and enjoy some tunes. “Nights in White Satin” is starting…

